2020 BGGS Composition Competition Winners Announced

The Instrumental Music Department is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 BGGS Student Composition Competition. Congratulations to:

  • Tiffany Yeo (10E)—for a composition for Combined Strings (adjudicated by Mr Michael Patterson)
  • Abigail Lui (12O)—for a composition for Treble Choir (adjudicated by Ms Clare Finlayson)
  • Serena Choo (11M)—for a composition of a Contemporary Pop Song (adjudicated by Ms Adele Cummings).

Thank you to all students who participated in this year’s competition. We look forward to debuting the winning compositions at the School’s International Women’s Day Concert on Friday 5 March 2021.

Student Achievements

In addition to the amazing contributions our students give to their school-based music activities, we would like to share news of some exciting musical successes achieved by our talented Grammar girls.

Xinting (Vivian) Wang (11L) was awarded an Associate in Music, Australia (AMusA) on Flute. The AMusA is a diploma awarded by examination to outstanding candidates in the fields of musical performance by the Australian Music Examinations Board (AMEB). Congratulations on this momentous achievement, Vivian.

Annabelle Khoo (12W) was awarded a Distinction with 100 per cent in her Grade 8 Trinity College, London Classical Voice Exam.

Abigail Chadirchi (11L) achieved a Distinction for her Grade 8 Rockschool Drum Kit exam in September (RSL Level 3 Certificate in Popular Music Performance).

Remi Hirayama (10L) recently participated in the annual Una Morgan Harp Competition organised by the Harp Society of Queensland. Remi played Etude No.10 by Bach/Grandjany and variations on a theme of Mozart by Glinka. Remi won the solo harp junior category and was announced as the overall winner of the competition. Congratulations Remi on this wonderful result.

Mrs Emma Dron
Director of Instrumental Music

Vivian Wang (11L)

Annabelle Khoo (12W)

Abigail Chadirchi (11L)

Remi Hirayama (10L)